When you update your classes, some students might have Educake accounts already and some might be new to Educake. This article describes how to access and distribute both of these students' login details.

Summary:

New student

Student who already has an Educake account

Username

A username is automatically generated.

You can find them in the confirmation email after updating your classes, or at any time from Manage Students, Classes and Years

Username stays the same.

You can find them in the confirmation email after updating your classes, or any time from Manage Students, Classes and Years

Password

A 4-character password is generated.

You can get passwords from the confirmation email after updating your classes. After that, we cannot see students' passwords.

Password stays the same.

We cannot see students' passwords, but you can reset them to temporarily be the same as their usernames.

Or, you can send students an email with:

  • a reminder of their username

  • a link to reset their password

More detail:


New students will get a username and a password

When you upload your classes, each new student will receive a username and a four-character password.

You can get these login details by downloading the spreadsheet and PDF of sticky labels from the confirmation email. Please note: these links expire 7 days after you receive them.

These will be the only record of the student's password -- once they log in, they are able to change their password to something else if they want to. For security we are not able to see if a student has changed their password, nor what they have changed it to.

What if I didn't download the login details in time?

If you didn't download the login details within 7 days, we unfortunately won't be able to retrieve the passwords for you. However, you have a couple options:

  • Option 1: we can reset your new students' passwords to their usernames, and generate new sticky labels for you

  • Option 2: we can send emails to your students with their username and a reset password link


Students who already have accounts will keep their login details

When you update your classes, any students who already have accounts will keep the same username and password they've been using.

We are not able to see students' passwords, so unfortunately we can't see if they've changed it since last year or what they've changed it to. If your students have forgot their passwords since last year, there are a few things we can do for you:

  • Option 1: Reset the students' passwords to their usernames

    When they log in they'll be asked to confirm their last name and choose a new password. If you'd like, we can also generate sticky labels for your students, which will show their usernames.

  • Option 2: Send password reset links

    They'll receive an email with their username and a link to choose a new password. The link expires after 2 weeks. Each student needs to have an email already saved in Educake, or you can provide them on a spreadsheet.

Did this answer your question?